SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE FEDERATED STATES OF MICRONESIA

FIFTH REGULAR SESSION, 2012

C.R. NO. 17-168

A RESOLUTION

To confirm the nomination of Mr. Tesime Kofot to serve as a member of the Board of Directors of the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority (NORMA) representing the FSM National Government.

1 WHEREAS, pursuant to Public Law No. 15-38, section 201(1), 2 which amended title 24 of the Code of the Federated States, as amended, the Federated States of Micronesia established a five 3 member Board of Directors for the National Oceanic Resource 4 5 Management Authority; and WHEREAS, pursuant to Public Law No. 15-38, sections 6 7 201(1)(b), as amended, the President of the Federated States of Micronesia appoints one member from each State to serve on the 8 Board of Directors for the National Oceanic Resource Management 9 10 Authority (NORMA), in consultation with the Governor and with the advice and consent of Congress; and 11 WHEREAS, pursuant to Public Law No. 15-38, section 201(1)(a), 12 as amended, the President has appointed Mr. Tesime Kofot, a 13 nominee recommended by the Governor of the State of Chuuk, to 14 serve as the Chuuk State representative on the Board of Directors 15 of the FSM National Oceanic Resource Management Authority for two 16

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Tesime Kofot has the experience and 19 qualifications which make him a suitable candidate to serve on the 20 Board of Directors; and

21 WHEREAS, pursuant to Public Law No. 15-38, section 201(1), as

years; and

17

amended, board members are appointed to serve a two year term;
now, therefore,

3 BE IT RESOLVED by the Seventeenth Congress of the Federated 4 States of Micronesia, Fifth Regular Session, 2012, that Congress 5 hereby confirms the nomination of Mr. Tesime Kofot to serve as a 6 member of the Board of Directors of the National Oceanic Resource 7 Management Authority; and

8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of this 9 resolution be transmitted to the President of the Federated States 10 of Micronesia, the Governor of the State of Chuuk, the Board of 11 Directors of the National Oceanic Resource Management Authority, 12 the Executive Director for the National Oceanic Resource 13 Management Authority and Mr. Tesime Kofot.

14

15	Date: <u>9/12/12</u>	Introduced by: <u>/s/ Florencio S. Harper</u>
		Florencio S. Harper
16		(by request)
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
~ ~		
22		
23		
24		
25		
40		